Public Holidays

Banks, offices, department stores and some shops close on public holidays, however on New Year’s Day, Easter Sunday, Labour Day and Christmas Day everything closes so make sure you have planned your outings around them.

•    New Year’s Day: 1st January
•    Carnaval Tuesday: February/March – the day before Ash Wednesday
•    Good Friday: March/April
•    Liberty Day: 25th April
•    Labour Day: 1st May
•    Corpus Christi: May/June – 9th Tuesday after Easter
•    Portugal Day (Camoes/Communities Day): 10th June
•    Feast of the Assumption: 15th August
•    Republic Day: 5th October
•    All Saints Day: 1st November
•    Independence Day: 1st December
•    Feast of the Immaculate Conception: 8th December
•    Christmas Day: 25th December