Visa Information

Transit visa is required for many nationals. Please do confirm at the website of the embassy before traveling. The following nationals are exempt from a transit visa:

·    Nationals of Schengen countries
·    Persons with a residence permit for a European Union member state
·    Persons in direct transit by air without leaving the airport (unless        specified on the following list)

Nationals of UAE do not require a transit visa if they are not leaving the airport.
The nationals of countries requiring a transit visa even if they do not leave the airport are as follows
·    Nationals of Afghanistan, Albania, Angola, Bangladesh, Congo, Cuba, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Guinea Bissau, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Ivory Coast, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Mali, Nigeria, Pakistan, Romania, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Syria, Togo, Turkey

Visitor Visa:

Visitor Visa can be applied for from Sunday to Thursday from the Embassy located in Abu Dhabi. The timings are from 0900 to 1300 hours. Additionally on Wednesdays, the Embassy issues visas at the Kenya Airways office in Dubai, between 0900 and 1300 hrs.
Travel agents and representatives of the traveler are allowed to apply on behalf of the traveler as long as they have the necessary documents and authority letter.

Single entry visa:
The documents required for a single visit visa are as follows:
Original passport
Duly completed visa form
Visa fee depending on nationality of the applicant is from DHS 200 to DHS 360
One passport sized photograph
If on business, a letter from employer

A single entry visa is normally returned the same day, within an hour, if all papers and passport are in order.

Multiple entry visas:

This is a longer process. Multiple entry visas can only be issued from the Immigration Office in Nairobi. Once referred, the processing time can go up to a month if not more.

Besides this the nationals of the following countries have to have their visas sent to Nairobi for approval. These are : Afghanistan, Azerbaijan,  Armenia, Cameroon, Iraq, Lebanon, Mali North Korea, Nigeria, Senegal,  Somali, Syria, Jordan, Stateless Persons Tajikistan, Burundi Gratis    

The following documents are required for a multiple entry visa:

Valid passport
3 duly filled in application forms
3 passport sized photographs
A photocopy of the passport
Invitation from local sponsors in Kenya
Letter from Employer or trade license
DHS 40, non refundable as processing fee

Address in the UAE
Khalidiya, Khalifa bin Sakhbout Street,
Sector 55, Zone 2 street, (Behind New Blood Bank)
Po Box 3854
Tel: +971-02-6666300
Abu Dhabi

Address of Kenya Airways for applications on Wednesdays:
Makhtoum Street,

Kenyan Nationals staying outside Kenya need to register with the embassy by filling up a form, attaching their passport and sending an e-mail to or mail to
Dubai (Consulate-General)
Embassy of the Republic of Kenya
United Arab Emirates
PO BOX 3454
Abu Dhabi, UAE
Tel (971)(2) 6666300
Fax: (971)(2) 6652827