Located in the heart of Paris along the Ile de la Cite, the Sainte-Chapelle is a magnificent example of Gothic architecture. Construction started sometime between 1239 and 1243, and it was consecrated on April 26th, 1248. Sainte-Chapelle was connected to the royal palace and housed the relic collection (including Jesus’ crown of thorns) of French King Louis IX, later beatified Saint Louis.
During the French Revolution, the chapel was vandalized. Most of the relics were stolen and several of the priceless stained windows were smashed. It was also turned into an administrative building. The beautiful chapel we see today was the product of a renovation led by Eugene Viollet-le-Duc in 1855.
The highlight of the chapel are the 600 square meters of stained glass windows, the world’s finest surviving examples of the lost art of glass staining. Though it is not large, the interior feels expansive because of the lack of supports. The color from the stained glass creates a unique environment as well.
4 bd. du Palais, 4e, Paris, France
Telephone: +33 01-53-40-60-80
Metro: Cite (4)
Hours: From March 1 to October 31 09:30-18:00; From November 1-Febrary 28 09:00-17:00
Open every day except holidays.
Free admission for children under 18.