Pyramids of Giza

The Pyramids of Giza is the only surviving wonder of the seven wonders of the ancient world. As such, it is one of the main attractions in Egypt and an amazing sight to experience.

Ancient Egyptians believed heavily in the importance of the afterlife, and so the Pyramids were built to house the tombs of the Pharaohs so that they would have a successful and smooth transition into the afterworld.

The pyramid complex at Giza consists of three large pyramids made for the fourth dynasty Pharaohs and then three smaller pyramids for the Pharaohs queens. The Great Sphinx is also part of this complex.

The largest and oldest of the pyramids is the Pyramid of Khufu (also known as “Cheops" in Greek) which was completed in 2600 BC. Its height is 136.4 m (447.5 ft) and is made of 2.5 million limestone blocks.

The two other pyramids are those of Chephren and Mycerinus. Near Chephren, the son of Khufu, stands the Great Sphinx, which is believed to carry the face of Khufu so that Chephren could be near his father upon death.

Pyramid Road, 18km (11 miles) southwest of central Cairo

Opening hours: Daily 7:00 a.m.-7:30 p.m.; Daily 8:30 a.m. 4:00 p.m. (pyramid chambers)

More Places-To-Visit in Cairo
Antiquities Museum
Bab Zuwayla
Bayt el-Suhaymi
Cataract Pyramids Resort
Child-Friendly Hotels
Cinema Metro